AGU Fellowship


Established in 1962, the Fellows program recognizes AGU members who have made exceptional contributions to Earth and space sciences as valued by their peers and vetted by a committee of Fellows. Primary criteria for evaluation in scientific eminence are:

  1. major breakthrough,
  2. major discovery,
  3. paradigm shift, and
  4. sustained impact.

This designation is conferred upon not more than 0.1% of all AGU members in any given year. Section Fellows committees provide rankings and recommendations of eligible nominations to the Union Fellows Selection Committee, who make the final decision.

Previous VGP-AGU Fellows

2017 VGP-AGU Fellows

  • Marc Chaussidon
  • Matthew J. Kohny
  • Klaus Mezger
  • Robert J. Stern
  • Youxue Zhang

2017 AGU Fellows, co-sponsored by VGP

  • Paul J. Tackley
  • Jeffrey Alt
  • Hai Cheng