Blog Viewer

Announcement of Section Elections and Procedures


Seeking Nominations, including self-nominations, to the Ballot for Section President -Elect


As most of you know, the leadership (President, President-elect, Secretary and the Past-President) are elected positions. In 2022, the Hydrology Section of the AGU will be electing its next President-Elect and we seek nominations, including self-nominations, for candidates for the office. The President-elect serves a two-year term, followed by a two-year term as President, and finally, a two-year term as Past-President.   The President-elect also serves on the AGU Council and chairs the Section’s Fellows Selection Committee. We will not be seeking nominations for Section Secretary this cycle, as our current Secretary, Shirley Papuga, has agreed to serve a second term as provided by the Section By-Laws.


The Section President is responsible for all section activities, including budgeting, committee assignments, review of awards recommendations and procedures and development of Section initiatives. The President-elect and President are ineligible to be Fellow candidates and are ineligible for Section awards during their terms of office. Past-Presidents continue this ineligibility through their first year of term.


We seek individuals with an interest, capability and bandwidth to lead our large and diverse section. The position requires a significant commitment of time and energy, particularly during the President phase of term.


Interested persons should submit a statement of interest including a link to a current CV to the Chair of the Section’s Nominating Committee, past-President Scott Tyler ( with a cc to the Section President Ana P. Barros ( The procedure and timeline for the 2022 election is described below:


January 2022- March 1, 2022: Nominations, including self-nominations, will be received and forwarded for the Section’s Nominating Committee for review.  The Nominations Committee may also actively solicit nominations for candidacy from the Section membership. 


March 15, 2022: The Section Nominating Committee will forward a slate of candidates to the Section President for consideration.  If more than two candidates have applied, the Nominating Committee will make its recommendations based upon the nominee’s breadth of knowledge of the field of hydrology and past leadership/management experience.  While the slate will remain confidential, the Section President will contact nominees individually and secure their agreement to run and to serve if elected including acceptance to abide by all the Conflict-of-Interest rules.


Note: AGU requires Sections to forward a maximum of two candidates for consideration. 


April 1, 2022: The Section President will submit a slate of two candidates for President-Elect to the AGU staff.


May 1, 2022: Upon approval by the AGU, the proposed slate of candidates will be announced to the membership in EOS 30 days prior to the ballot being finalized. Within that 30-day window, AGU bylaws stipulate that additional nominations from the general membership may be made by petition, provided that each petition is signed by at least 1% of the full voting members of the section. This year, the date that petitions must be received has not yet been determined, but likely mid-summer.  Nominees must be AGU members and provide a letter with the petition agreeing to serve if elected.


Late August 2022: Voting opens and polls remain open for 30 days.


October 2022: Election results are announced by AGU.


Note: The AGU Governance Committee will announce the section results to the current Section President first, who will notify individually the Section candidates before the results are announced publicly.