Witherspoon Lecture

The Paul Witherspoon Lecture is given in recognition of outstanding achievements by a mid-career scientist (within 10 to 20 years since Ph.D.) in advancing the field of hydrologic sciences. It recognizes significant and innovative contributions by mid-career scientists to the hydrologic sciences through research aimed at socially important problems and through mentoring of young scientists. The award is named to honor the life and work of Paul A. Witherspoon, an accomplished hydrologist who was a leader in the field for more than 50 years.


  • 2021 – Junguo Liu
  • 2020 – Giuliano Di Baldassarre
  • 2019 – Patrick Reed
  • 2018 – Elizabeth Boyer
  • 2017 – Thorsten Wagener
  • 2016 – Paolo D’Odorico

Nomination Process

AGU is now accepting nominations for AGU awards and honors. Information on the nominations process for this award can be found here.