You Can Influence Future Honors and Awards in Hydrology.

The Task Force on Future Awards and Honors.

In February 2021 Ana Barros, AGU Hydrology Section President, appointed a Task Force to review the current state of Section Honors and Awards (including invited lectures), make recommendations to enhance and expand them in the future, and assist the Section leadership in bringing appropriate recommendations to the AGU Council for Union approval. The Task Force was asked to specifically consider diversity issues and is currently assembling appropriate data and statistics (especially demographics), AGU policy statements, and other information to assist them with their deliberations. The Task Force is chaired by John Wilson with Linda Abriola as Vice-Chair. Other members are Bayani Cardenas, Jay Famiglietti, Terri Hogue, Randy Koster, Praveen Kumar, Jessica Lundquist, Bridget Scanlon, and John Selker (ex-officio, H Section President-Elect).

The Task Force solicits suggestions and comments from the hydrologic science community pertaining to its charge. In particular, it wishes to identify suitable candidates to be honored by a named section award through the creation of a new named award or the renaming of an existing unnamed award. The section has two named lectures, the Langbein Lecture and the Witherspoon Lecture, both given at the Fall AGU meeting, and one named award, the graduate student Horton Research Grant. There are currently two unnamed awards, the senior-level Hydrologic Science Award and the Early Career Award. Some time ago the Hydrologic Science Award was named the Horton Award, but the title of the award was changed to avoid confusion with the Union’s Horton Medal. The Task Force is considering the creation of a new award at the mid-career level. Through its deliberations, other awards may also be proposed in the future.

The Task Force recently solicited from the community nominations of distinguished hydrologic scientists and engineers for whom the Hydrologic Sciences Award, a new Hydrologic Sciences Mid-Career Award, and the Hydrologic Sciences Early-Career Award might be named. To make the nomination process more efficient, the Task Force is employing a two-stage process. First, the Task Force solicited two-page nominations for distinguished hydrologic scientists to honor in this way. Those brief 2-page nominations have been received. In the second stage, the Task Force is reviewing the nominations to select those for a full-package nomination. 

The Task Force seeks general suggestions and comments, particularly ideas for new awards or lectures. These, as well as questions about the naming of awards, should be directed to The Task Force is also considering holding a community Zoom meeting should interest be strong enough.