Jerome M. Paros Scholarships in Geophysical Instrumentation -- Now Accepting Applications! 

The Paros Scholarships in Geophysical Instrumentation were established through the generosity of Jerome M. Paros to support graduate students with a demonstrated interest in geophysical instrumentation and precise field measurements in seismology, atmospheric sciences, or ocean sciences. This $5000 scholarship is awarded to three students each year to help build a solid pool of talent working on and interested in geophysical instrumentation.
Application deadline: 15 April 2023
Application information found here

Outstanding Student Presentation Award Winners

Outstanding Student Presentation Awards (OSPAs) recognize excellence among student talks and posters at AGU meetings.

Congratulations to the 2021 OSPA Award Winners! Just announced!

2021 Fall Meeting
  • Sydney Dybing (Detecting Earthquakes in Noisy Real-Time GNSS Data with Machine Learning)
  • Anant Hariharan (Minimizing Love wave overtone interference in phase velocity measurements via a targeted selection of earthquake sources)
  • Regina Maaß (Monitoring velocity changes in Iceland with fibre-optic distributed acoustic sensing)
  • Augustin Marignier (Proximal Markov Chain Monte Carlo: Towards Building a Sparse Earth Model)
  • Solvi Thrastarson (Efficient Global-Scale Full-Waveform Inversion)
  • Valeria Villa (3D Basin Depth Map for the San Gabriel, Chino, and San Bernardino Basins)
2020 Fall Meeting
  • Solene Antoine (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris)
  • Jorge Castellanos (California Institute of Technology)
  • Jonathan Simpson (The University of Auckland)
  • Sabrina Keil (Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich)
  • Aisling O'Kane (University of Cambridge)
  • Jiuxun Yin (Harvard University)

2019 Fall Meeting

  • Yanru An, China Earthquake Networks Center
  • Benjamin Fernando, University of Oxford
  • Quancheng Huang, University of Maryland College Park
  • Thomas Lee, Harvard University
  • Jiun-Ting Lin, University of Oregon
  • Geena Little, University of British Columbia
  • John Keith Magali, Universite de Lyon
  • Patrick Paitz, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich
  • Zhichao Shen, California Institute of Technology
  • Sauló Simutó, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich
  • Janneke van Ginkel, University of Groningen
  • Jonathan Voyles, University of Utah

2018 Fall Meeting

  • Yen Joe Tan (Columbia University)
  • Felix Rodriquez Cardozo (National Autonomous University of Mexico)
  • Evans Onyango (University of New Mexico)
  • Simone Mancini (University of Bristol)
  • Isabella Gama (Brown University)
  • Jiaqi Li (Peking University)
  • Hugo Sanchez-Reyes (University Joseph Fourier Grenoble)
  • Seth Olinger (Harvard University)
  • Marina Corradini (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris)
  • Iris van Zelst (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology [ETH] Zurich)
  • Laura Dzieran (University of Kiel)
  • Serge Sambolian (University Cote d’Azur)

2017 Fall Meeting

  • Dubois Alizee
  • Tim Clements (Harvard University)
  • Katherine Cosburn (University of New Mexico)
  • Callum Fry (University of Southampton)
  • Lisa Kaneko (University of Tokyo)
  • Mitch Liddell (Imperial College London)
  • Robert Martin-Short (University of California Berkeley)
  • Omero Orlandini (University of Colorado at Boulder)
  • Nooshin Saloor (Northwestern University)
  • Oliver Sanford (University of Durham)
  • Srisharan Shreedharan (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Jiuxun Yin (Harvard University)

2016 Fall Meeting

  • Michael Afanasiev (ETH Zurich)
  • Yaochieh Chen (National Taiwan Normal University)
  • Wenyuan Fan (University of California, San Diego)
  • Dara Goldberg (University of California, San Diego)
  • Kenneth Hudson (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Andrew Lloyd (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • Kathryn Materna (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Yajun Peng (Princeton University)
  • Lukas Preiswerk (ETH Zurich)
  • Kathrin Spieker (University of Bergen)
  • Ruijia Wang (University of Alberta)

2015 Fall Meeting

  • Karianne Bergen (Stanford University)
  • Daniel Bowman (University of North Carolina)
  • Laurence Cowton (University of Cambridge)
  • Andreas Mavrommatis (Stanford University)
  • Pamela Moyer (University of New Hampshire)
  • Marija Mustac (Australian National University)
  • Frederic Wagner (Uppsala University)

2014 Fall Meeting

  • Saul Åukauskait (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology [ETH] Zurich)
  • Daniel Bowden (California Institute of Technology)
  • Martin Gal (University of Tasmania)
  • Rhys Hawkins (Australian National University)
  • Avinash Nayak (University of California Berkeley)
  • Jennifer Neale (University of Southampton)
  • Stephen Perry (California Institute of Technology)
  • Raymundo Plata Martinez (National Autonomous University of Mexico)
  • Hannah Rabinowitz (Columbia University)
  • Kevin Seats (Stanford University)
  • Amy Williamson (Georgia Institute of Technology)

2013 Fall Meeting

  • Chastity Aiken (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  • Naofumi Aso (University of Tokyo)
  • Camilla Cattania (Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum, GFZ)
  • Celia Eddy (Columbia University)
  • Erica Galetti (University of Edinburgh)
  • Xiaofeng Meng (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  • Paul Selvadurai (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Michael Witek (Northwestern University)
  • Lian Xue (University of California, Santa Cruz)

2012 Fall Meeting

  • Azadeh Fereidoni (Western University)
  • Jaime Andres Convers (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  • Jessica Feenstra (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Jessica Lodewyk (Northwestern University)
  • Marine Denolle (Stanford University)
  • Michael Bramnik (Northern Illinois University)
  • Michele Fondriest (University of Padova)
  • Stefany Sit (Miami University)
  • Wenbo Wu (University of Science and Technology of China)