Newsletter Archive

January 2014

Congratulations to the winners of Outstanding Student Presentation Awards from the 2013 Fall Meeting! This year’s winners from the Seismology Section are: Chastity Aiken (Georgia Institute of Technology), Naofumi Aso (University of Tokyo), Camilla Cattania (Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum), Celia Eddy (Columbia University), Erica Galetti (University of Edinburgh), Xiaofeng Meng (Georgia Institute of Technology), Paul Selvadurai (University of California, Berkeley), Michael Witek (Northwestern University) and Lian Xue (University of California, Santa Cruz). Many thanks to all the section members who judged student presentations.

The season for AGU honors nominations is here, and we would like to encourage you to nominate your colleagues. At the Union level, honors include the Fellows program and numerous medals and awards. In the Seismology Section, our awards are the Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award and the Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service, and we have the Gutenberg Lecture. We would also like your ideas for candidates for the next Seismology Section President-elect and Secretary. Read on for more information.

2014 Nomination Deadlines

March 1, 2014: Seismology Section President-elect and Secretary

March 15, 2014: Union Fellows, Union medals and awards

April 15, 2014: Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award, Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service, Gutenberg Lecture

2014 Elections for Seismology Section Officers

Elections for the 2015-2017 Seismology Section President-elect and Secretary will occur in the summer of 2014, and a committee, chaired by Susan Beck, will be choosing two candidates for each office. We welcome your suggestions for candidates. Please send them to Susan Beck ( by March 1, 2014. 2014 Section Candidate Committee: Susan Beck (chair), Greg Beroza, Jean-Paul Montagner, Peter Shearer, Suzan van der Lee, John Vidale.

Union Fellows

Nominations for 2014 Fellows can be submitted via the AGU Web site from January 31to March 15, 2014. Nominations will first be reviewed by the Fellows Committee for each Section. Section recommendations are then sent on to the Union Fellows Committee who will make the final determination of the 2014 Fellows. 2014 Seismology Section Fellows Committee: Douglas Wiens (chair), Emily Brodsky, Shamita Das, Karen Fischer, Jeanne Hardebeck, Steven Holbrook, Peter Shearer.

Union Medals and Awards

Union medals and awards that are often of interest to seismologists include the Macelwane, Lehman, Bucher, Bowie, Ewing and Hess Medals and the Smith, Flinn, International and Excellence in Geophysical Education Awards. However, we also encourage you to consider nominating colleagues for the new Ambassador Award and the other medals and awards. Nominations for Union Medals and Awards are not reviewed at the Section level. Nominations should be submitted through the AGU Web site from January 31 to March 15, 2014.

Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award

The Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award recognizes the scientific accomplishments of young scientists in the field of seismology. Nominees for this award in 2014 should have obtained their Ph.D. in 2011-2013 and should be a member of AGU with a primary affiliation in the Seismology Section. Please submit nominations by April 15, 2014 through the AGU website* and notify Karen Fischer ( For nomination details please see this link. The award will be presented at the 2014 AGU meeting just prior to the Gutenberg Lecture. 2014 Aki Award Committee: Karen Fischer (chair), Richard Allen, Arwen Deuss, Joan Gomberg, Jeannot Trampert, Anne Trehu, George Zandt.

Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service

The Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service is given annually to an AGU member with a primary affiliation in the Seismology, Geodesy, or Tectonophysics Sections who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership of community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research. Nominations should be submitted by April 15, 2014 through the AGU website*; please also notify Tim Dixon ( Nomination details can be found at this link. The selection committee for this award is made up the Seismology, Geodesy and Tectonophysics Section Presidents and President-elects. The award will be presented at the 2014 AGU meeting just prior to the Bowie Lecture.

Gutenberg Lecture

The Gutenberg Lecture is the named lecture in seismology given annually at the December AGU Meeting. Please submit suggestions for the 2014 Gutenberg Lecturer by April 15, 2014 through the AGU website* and send a confirmation to Richard Allen (; a short paragraph would be fine. 2014 Gutenberg Lecture Committee: Richard Allen (chair), Greg Beroza, Michel Campillo, Karen Fischer, Miaki Ishii, Peter Shearer, Anne Sheehan.

Seismology Honors Nominating Committee

The charge of the Seismology Section Honors Nominating Committee is to encourage nominations of outstanding members of the Seismology Section for AGU awards at the Union and Section Level. They are taking a comprehensive look at potential nominees across the Section, including international members, women, and other underrepresented groups. 2014 Honors Nominating Committee: Barbara Romanowicz (chair), Susan Hough, Hitoshi Kawakatsu, Alan Levander, Michael Ritzwoller.

AGU conflict of interest policy

Under AGU’s conflict of interest policy for its honors program members of the selection committee for a given honor are not able to nominate, write a supporting letter, or be nominated for that honor. The policy also includes guidelines for nominations of former graduate advisors, graduate advisees and postdocs.

We look forward to your nominations!

Best regards,

Karen Fischer (President)

Richard Allen (Secretary)

Greg Beroza (President-elect)

Peter Shearer (Past President)

Caroline Eakin (Student Representative)

*AGU headquarters has indicated that a submission link will be available by January 31, 2014.

Section Resources