Newsletter Archive

February 2018

2017 OSPA Winners

Congratulations to Seismology section winners of the 2017 Fall Meeting Outstanding Student Paper Award (OSPA)! Many thanks to all the section members who judged student presentations and to Eliza Richardson, the section secretary, and Margaret Boettcher for coordinating the judging. This year’s winners are

  • Dubois Alizée, École Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay
  • Tim Clements, Harvard University
  • Katherine Cosburn, University of New Mexico
  • Callum Fry, University of Southampton
  • Mitch Liddell, Imperial College London
  • Lisa Kaneko, University of Tokyo
  • Robert Martin-Short, University of California, Berkeley
  • Omero (Phil) Orlandini, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Nooshin Saloor, Northwestern University
  • Oliver Sanford, University of Durham
  • Srisharan Shreedharan, Pennsylvania State UniversityJiuxun Yin, Harvard University

New Seismology Section Student Representatives

We decided to expand the number of section student representatives to three, to provide more diverse student input and increase the opportunities for student involvement in the section. The new student representatives are Neala Creasy (Yale University), Fransiska Dannemann (Southern Methodist University and Los Alamos National Laboratory), and Yuchen Wang (University of Tokyo). We extend a big thanks to the outgoing student representative, Celia Eddy, for several years of excellent service.

2018 Honors Nominations

There are many great seismologists who deserve recognition, so we encourage all our members to think about nominations. No one gets an award without a nomination! The deadline for Union Fellows and Union awards, medals, and prizes is 15 March; the deadline for Seismology section awards and the lecture is 15 April.

Union Fellows

Nominations for 2018 Union Fellows can be submitted until 15 March. Nominations will first be reviewed by the Section Fellows Committee(s) selected by the nominator on the nomination form. Section committee recommendations are then sent to the Union Fellows Committee, who will make the final determination.

Union Awards, Medals, and Prizes

Union awards, medals, and prizes often of interest to seismologists include the Smith,Ambassador, Flinn, International, and Excellence in Earth and Space Education awards; and the Macelwane, Lehman, Bucher, Bowie, Ewing, and Hess medals. The Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists is new this year and recognizes midcareer scientists for scientific advances, leadership, and service. We encourage you to consider nominating colleagues for these or other Union honors. Nominations for Union medals and awards are not reviewed by Union-level committees and should be submitted through the AGU nomination site by 15 March.

Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award

The Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award recognizes the scientific accomplishments of young scientists in the field of seismology. Nominees for this award in 2018 should have obtained their Ph.D. in 2015–2017 and should be a member of AGU affiliated primarily with Seismology. Please submit nominations by 15 April through the to be reviewed by the Award Committee. The award will be presented at the 2018 AGU Fall Meeting prior to the Gutenberg Lecture.

Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service

The Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service is given annually to an AGU member with a primary affiliation in the Seismology, Geodesy, or Tectonophysics section who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership of community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research. Nominations should be submitted by 15 April. The selection committee for this award is made up of the Seismology, Geodesy, and Tectonophysics section presidents and presidents-elect.

Gutenberg Lecture

The Gutenberg Lecture is the named lecture in seismology given annually at the Fall Meeting. This is an opportunity for us to show exciting results from seismological research to the larger AGU community. Please submit suggestions for the 2018 Gutenberg Lecturer by 15 April to committee chair Emily Brodsky with the subject line “Gutenberg Lecture Nomination,” and a paragraph summarizing the rationale and qualifications.

Seismology Honors Canvassing Committee

The charge of the Seismology Honors Canvassing Committee is to encourage nominations of outstanding members of the Seismology section for AGU awards at the Union and section levels. The committee is taking a comprehensive look at potential nominees across the section, including international members, women, and other underrepresented groups.

AGU Conflict of Interest Policy

Under the AGU Honors program Conflict of Interest Policy, members of the selection committee for a given honor are not able to nominate, write a supporting letter, or be nominated for that honor. The policy also includes guidelines for nominations of former graduate advisors, graduate advisees, and postdocs. We look forward to your nominations!

New AGU Ethics Policy: Professional Conduct Disclosure

AGU updated its Ethics Policy in 2017. The policy includes a Code of Conduct that sets expectations for professional conduct related to harassment, bullying, and other scientific misconduct issues. As part of this new policy, each candidate or nominee for an AGU award, honor, or governance position is required to disclose any formal complaints or findings related to the candidate’s professional conduct, even if the matter is still pending. The disclosure is required for governance candidates prior to election balloting and for awardees prior to conferring awards. Similar to AGU’s conflict of interest self-disclosure, a professional conduct self-disclosure does not automatically disqualify someone for the AGU position or recognition. However, each disclosure will receive a review and follow-up discussion if there are areas of concern.

2018 Elections for Seismology Section Officers

Elections for the 2019–2020 Seismology section president-elect and secretary will be held this summer, and a nominations committee, chaired by Maureen Long, will be choosing two candidates for each office. The section secretary serves for 2 years. The section president-elect serves for 2 years in that capacity, followed by 2 years as section president and 2 years as past president. We welcome your suggestions for candidates. You are also allowed to volunteer yourself! Please send suggestions to Maureen Long by 15 March.

Best regards,

Doug Wiens, President

Eliza Richardson, Secretary

Anne Sheehan, President-elect

Greg Beroza, Past President

Section Resources