Newsletter Archive

November 2013

1. AGU Fall Meeting Events

With the AGU Fall Meeting just ahead, we would like to draw your attention to a number of seismology-related meeting events:

Tuesday, 10 December, 5:00 PM: Presentation of the 2013 Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service

104 Moscone South (session G24A)

The 2013 Silver Award will be presented to Julia Morgan immediately before the Bowie Lecture. This award is given jointly by the Seismology, Geodesy, and Tectonophysics Sections to a member who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership of community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research.

Tuesday, 10 December, 6:30 PM–8:00 PM: Seismology/Tectonophysics Reception

San Francisco Marriott Marquis, Salons 10-13

Join us for informal conversation with colleagues (and hors d’oeuvres and drinks). At approximately 7:00 PM, we will have brief remarks to recognize the 2013 Union Fellows from Seismology and Tectonophysics, other section honorees, and section volunteers. 2013 AGU Union Fellows with ties to seismology include: Roland Bürgmann, Herb Dragert, Cynthia Ebinger, Joan Gomberg, Denis Hatzfeld, Casey Moore, Andrew Nyblade, Kazushige Obara, and An Yin.

Wednesday, 11 December, 4:00 PM: Presentation of the 2013 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award

Moscone South, Room 103 (session S34A)

The 2013 Aki Award will be presented to Brandon Schmandt just prior to the Gutenberg Lecture. This award recognizes an outstanding young seismologist who is within three years of receiving her/his Ph.D.

Wednesday, 11 December, 4:10 PM: Gutenberg Lecture

103 Moscone South (session S34A)

Michael Ritzwoller will be giving the 2013 Gutenberg Lecture: “The emerging legacy of USArray: New views of the architecture of the North American continent.”

Thursday, 12 December, 6:30 PM-8:30 PM: Seismology Student Mixer

Seismology Section Students: Want to catch up with friends in your field and maybe even make some new ones? Come join other seismology students at the Irish Bank for some drinks and free food. We’ll have space reserved at the bar area inside. We hope to see you there!

2. New Facebook Page for Students in the AGU Seismology Section

To keep up to date about the Seismology Student Mixer and other seismology student activities visit our Seismology Section Students Facebook page. Thanks to our new student representative, Caroline Eakin, for setting this up!

3. 2014 Elections for Seismology Section Officers

Elections for the 2015–2017 Seismology Section President-elect and Seismology Section Secretary will open in June 2014. We are in the process of forming a nominations committee to choose two candidates for each office. Please send your suggestions for candidates to Karen Fischer (

4. Seismology Section Web Editor

We are looking for a web editor for the Seismology Section. If you might be interested, please contact Karen Fischer for details. Opportunities exist to engage with other section and focus group web editors and AGU staff at the Fall Meeting.

Best regards,

Karen Fischer, AGU Section President, Seismology

Richard Allen, AGU Section Secretary, Seismology

Greg Beroza, AGU Section President-elect, Seismology

Peter Shearer AGU Section Past President, Seismology

Caroline Eakin AGU Section Student Representative, Seismology

Section Resources