Newsletter Archive

July 2014

AGU Fall Meeting Abstract Deadline: 6 August

The abstract deadline for the 2014 Fall Meeting is 6 August at 23:59 EDT. A list of Seismology sessions, a directory of all science sessions and information on how to submit an abstract are available on the AGU website. Thanks to Victor Tsai and Carl Tape for their work on the Seismology Program Committee for the Fall Meeting.

2014 Elections for AGU Officers

Elections for AGU Officers will occur later this summer. The candidates for Seismology Section President-elect are Jeanne Hardebeck and Douglas Wiens. The candidates for Seismology Section Secretary are Edward Garnero and Miaki Ishii. Thank you to the candidates for running, and to the Election Nominating Committee for selecting such an excellent slate. Election Nominating Committee: Susan Beck (chair), Greg Beroza, Jean-Paul Montagner, Peter Shearer, Suzan van der Lee, John Vidale. Please see the AGU Website for candidate bios and statements and more information on the elections. To be eligible to vote, your membership status and section affiliations need to be up-to-date by 1 August.

Seismology Section Honors

Gregory McLaskey has won the Seismology Section’s 2014 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award. This award is given each year to an outstanding young seismologist who is within three years of receiving her/his Ph.D. The award will be presented at the 2014 Fall Meeting immediately preceding the Gutenberg Lecture. Thank you to this year’s Aki Award Committee: Richard Allen, Arwen Deuss, Karen Fischer (chair), Joan Gomberg, Jeannot Trampert, Anne Trehu, and George Zandt.

Susan Beck is the 2014 Gutenberg Lecturer. The Gutenberg Lecture is given annually at the Fall Meeting to highlight cutting-edge research in seismology. Thanks to the Gutenberg Committee: Richard Allen (chair), Greg Beroza, Michel Campillo, Karen Fischer, Miaki Ishii, Peter Shearer, Anne Sheehan.

Stephen Hickman is the winner of the 2014 Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service. This award is given jointly by the Seismology, Geodesy and Tectonophysics Sections to a member who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership of community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research. The time and location of the award presentation at the Fall Meeting will be provided in a future newsletter.

Union Medals and Awards

Several of the 2014 Union Medal and Award winners have made fundamental contributions to seismology.

Hiroo Kanamori has won the 2014 William Bowie Medal. The Bowie Medal is AGU’s highest honor and is given in recognition of “outstanding contributions to fundamental geophysics and for unselfish cooperation in research.”

Thorne Lay is the recipient of the 2014 Inge Lehmann Medal. The Inge Lehmann Medal recognizes “outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure, composition, and dynamics of the Earth’s mantle and core.”

Bryan Isacks is the winner of the 2014 Walter H. Bucher Medal. The Bucher Medal is given for “original contributions to the basic knowledge of the crust and lithosphere.”

Michael Wysession has won a 2014 Ambassador Award. Ambassador Awards recognize “outstanding contributions to the following area(s): societal impact, service to the Earth and space community, scientific leadership, and promotion of talent/career pool.”

Please join us in congratulating the 2014 Seismology Section honorees and the Union Medal and Award winners!

Best regards,

Karen Fischer (President)

Richard Allen (Secretary)

Greg Beroza (President-elect)

Peter Shearer (Past President)

Caroline Eakin (Student Representative)

Section Resources