College of Fellows Distinguished Lecture Series Committee

The following College of Fellows committee works to ensure that the Distinguished Lecture Series continues to grow and expand. 

Committee members
Committee chair: Ariel Anbar, Arizona State University 


Estella Atekwana, University of Delaware

Catherine Chauvel, Institut De Physique Du Globe De Paris

Qingyun Duan, Hohai University

James Galloway, University of Virginia

The AGU College of Fellows (COF) has developed the Distinguished Lecture Series (DLS) where AGU Fellows will have an opportunity to give live or virtual lectures to the world-wide earth science community. This speaker series will be supported by the AGU COF. 

Participating in the DLS is an honor bestowed on AGU Fellows. AGU Fellows represent high-profile ambassadors for AGU and the science we represent. This speaker series will provide students, especially those without access to Earth and space scientists, an opportunity to be inspired by and learn from AGU Fellows. The lectures will provide a high-level synthesis of specific fields and will focus on grand challenges and societal impacts.

The program features AGU Fellows spanning mid- and senior-career levels from several countries. The speakers were nominated by leaders from AGU’s sections. For a full list of speakers and information about their lectures, visit the program webpage