College of Fellows New Frontiers Committee

The goal of this committee is to work with the AGU community to generate ideas that will shape the future of AGU, our science, and its impact on society. The subcommittee will develop concepts and ideas and propose initiatives to AGU leadership that promote novel directions for AGU, emphasizing interactions among new science and technologies, societal trends, and creative solutions. To accomplish this, they will reach out to diverse groups for input, including, but not limited to, the Board, Council, AGU editors, and the AGU membership at large. The group will identify exciting and emerging scientific ideas and important societal trends relevant to Earth and space science worldwide, including environmental, technological, educational, and social developments, and scientific advances. They will make recommendations to AGU leadership about future directions for AGU and promote engagement of the broader College of Fellows in implementing and communicating these activities.

Committee members
Committee chair: Gordon Grant, USDA Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Research Station

Richard Alley, Pennsylvania State University

Katharine Cashman, University of Bristol

Maureen Long, Yale University

Jonathan Overpeck, University of Michigan

Marc Parlange, Monash University

Daniel Schertzer, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech

Peter Schlosser, Arizona State University

Doerthe Tetzlaff, Humboldt University