Student Spotlight

Student Spotlight articles feature the ambitious, energetic, and ongoing student efforts in near surface geophysics.  These articles can be found at the end of the section's monthly newsletter and are also achieved below.  The purpose of these works is to help connect students with others who have similar research interests, inspire future cooperative research, and find out more about what is going on in the near surface research community.

If you or someone you know should be highlighted for their outstanding work, please contact Tonian Robinson or Christopher Terra to set up an interview! The Near Surface Section is excited to be able to offer free registration to the AGU Fall Meeting to the students featured in the Student Spotlight.


  • February - Heidi Myers, University of Maryland
  • March - Angelos Almpanis, Western University
  • April - Chanho Park, Western Michigan University
  • May - Jael Estrada, Rutgers University - Newark
  • June - Nicolette V. Filippone, Rutgers University - Newark


  • March - Christopher Terra, Rutgers University - Newark
  • July - John McKnight, University of Oklahoma
  • August - John Coonan, University of South Florida
  • September - Lena Schwebs, University of Wyoming
  • October - Moses Adebayo, University of Toledo
  • November - Madison Tuohey, Binghamton University
  • December - Akinwale Ogunkoya, University of Toledo


  • April - Joshua Thompson, Rutgers University - Newark
  • May - Matt Lees, Stanford University
  • June - Leonard Ohenhen, University of Delaware
  • July - Anne Isabelle, Polytechnique Montréal
  • September - Efemena Emmanuel, University of Toledo
  • October - Jiawei Li, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • November - John Ball, Lancaster University
  • December - Oumeng Zhang, Perdue University


  • February - Kelsi Leverett, Missouri University of Science and Technology, GPR
  • March - Ashely Green, Bournemouth University, GPR
  • April - Jessica Holmes, Queen's University Belfast, ERT
  • May - Will Swanson, University of Kansas, NMR and SIP
  • June - Alexis Alhert, University of Kansas, Seismic
  • July - Jimmy Boyd, Lancaster University, ERT
  • September - Michelle Proulx, University of Kansas, GPR




  • February - Rebekah R. Lee, Boise State University, permafrost applications of near-surface seismic
  • March - Robin Glas, Syracuse University, ERT and surface seismic
  • April - Fan Zhang, University of Kansas, NMR and SIP
  • June - Kirk Scanlan, University of Alberta, GPR
  • July - Matt Sirianni, Florida Atlantic University, GPR
  • August - Stephanie Phillips, University of Connecticut, GPR and ERT
  • September - Feng Cheng, China University of Geosciences, Seismic 
  • October - Matthew McClellan, Florida Atlantic University, GPR
  • December - Sajad JazayeriUniversity of South Florida, GPR


  • January - Christine Downs, University of South Florida, electrical resistivity and GPR
  • February - Adam Mangel, Clemson University, GPR
  • March - Emily Voytek, Colorado School of Mines, self-potential and other electrical methods
  • April - Gabe Gribler, Boise State University, passive and active seismic
  • May - Andrea Creighton, University of Wyoming, NMR
  • June - Agostiny Lontsi, University of Potsdam, passive and active seismic
  • July - Megan Miller, Arizona State University, InSAR
  • September - Gordon Osterman, Rutgers University-Newark, NMR
  • October - Teddi Herring, University of Calgary, Canada, electrical resistivity
  • November - Folarin Kolawole, Oklahoma State University, seismic and electrical resistivity