April 2023 Newsletter

Advertisement | Advertise with us
Nominate a colleague, mentor or student for an AGU honor!

The AGU Honors and Recognition nominations deadline is right around the corner! Be sure to get your nominations submitted by 12 April 2023.

Receiving an honor or becoming an AGU Fellow is an opportunity to recognize the contributions of your colleagues and students and also provides recipients with a sizeable boost to their careers. Let’s cast a broad net of nominations this year!

The AGU Canvassing Committee is here to help.
  • Nomination packages can take some time to put together so the time to start is now.
  • There are valuable “How-To” series on Youtube, created by the section’s DEI Committee, which held online workshops and office hours to help with preparing a nomination package.
  • You can write to us using this Google Form
  • You can also contact us if you have questions about the process; would like to suggest someone to be nominated; would like help getting yourself nominated; or anything else.
Biogeosciences Section Awards

Recognizes significant contributions as a role model and mentor for the next generation of biogeoscientists, especially those under-represented in Earth sciences.

Recognize unusually creative work by an early career scientist that advances scientific understanding in the biogeosciences.

Recognizes a scientist making significant contributions to the fields of global biogeochemistry and marine geochemistry through novel measurements.

This is an easy nomination process. Email your nomination directly to the Section President (Colleen Hansel) and President-Elect (Emily Bernhardt).

Check out these NEW Union awards:
Session Proposals for AGU23 are due 12 April

AGU23 is from 11-15 December in San Francisco, CA. This year’s theme is Wide. Open. Science. The deadline for Scientific Session, Townhall and Innovation Proposals is 12 April 2023, and the deadline for Learning Workshop Proposals is 26 April 2023. You can submit your proposals here!
Yours from the Biogeosciences Section,

Margaret Torn, Past-President and chair of the B-section canvassing committee
Colleen Hansel, President
Emily Bernhardt, President-Elect
Tana Wood, Secretary
Maya Almaraz, co-chair DEI committee
Emily Cardarelli, co-chair DEI committee
Stephanie Pennington, Early Career committee
AGU is a global community supporting more than half a million advocates and professionals in the Earth and space sciences.
Facebook   Twitter   LinkedIn   YouTube   Instagram
© 2023 AGU All rights reserved.
2000 Florida Ave NW, Washington DC 20009
http://www.agu.org | Manage Preferences