Earth and Planetary Surface Processes

Mini-Course: Teaching about Measuring the Earth with GPS - GETSI

  • 1.  Mini-Course: Teaching about Measuring the Earth with GPS - GETSI

    Posted 28 days ago
    GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) Project presents the mini-course:
    Teaching about Measuring the Earth with GPS (Intro-level undergraduate module)
    • Date: Tuesday February 9, 2021
    • Time: 12-2 pm PT | 1-3 pm MT  |  2-4 pm CT  |  3-5 pm ET  |  8-10 pm UTC
    • Registration deadline: Sunday February 7, 2021
    This mini-course will give instructors a chance to learn about the Measuring the Earth with GPS: Plate Motion and Changing Ice-Water module and ideas for teaching virtually and in-person. The mini-course includes interactive opportunities for instructors to actually work through parts of student exercises, discuss ideas with peers, and work on implementation planning. A great opportunity to learn about using GPS for measuring multiple aspects of the Earth system while improve student data analysis and quantitative skills$50 stipend* for completion of the course and short implementation plan.
    Although GPS's first widespread use by geoscientists was to track plate motions, geoscientists have found that GPS can also be used to measure local movement due to changes in the amount of water, snow, and ice. This module guides students to read GPS graphs as scientists do, and use their interpretations of that data to support recommendations that address societal issues related to earthquakes, water resources, and glacier melting. Its flexible use, as in-class group work, homework, and lab activities, provide approximately two weeks of instruction that can be used in sequence, scattered throughout the semester, or used as individual, stand-alone pieces.
    This is part of a larger series with other upcoming opportunities.
    The series is designed to support undergraduate instructors interested in using GETSI modules - teaching resources that  feature data and quantitative skills applied to critical topics such as natural hazards, climate change, and water resources. 
    Each mini-course is two hours long and will focus on one of the published GETSI modules. Unlike a webinar, these mini-courses will include interactive opportunities for instructors to actually work through parts of student exercises, discuss ideas with peers, and work on implementation planning. $50 stipend available.*
    • Teaching about Monitoring Volcanoes and Communicating Risks  [Introductory-level]
      • Date: Wednesday February 24, 2021
      • Time: 8-10 am PT  |  9-11 am MT  |  10 am-12pm CT  |  11 am-1 pm ET |  4-6 pm UTC
      • Registration deadline: Monday February 22, 2021
    • Teaching about Planning for Failure: Landslide Analysis for a Safer Society [Majors-level module]
      • Date: Thursday March 11, 2021
      • Time: 12-2 pm PT | 1-3 pm MT | 2-4 pm CT | 3-5 pm ET | 8-10 pm UTC
      • Registration will open a little later in February
    *Stipend for participants who complete the Implementation Planning Form by the Sunday after the mini-course. Must be US citizen or permanent resident to receive stipend; however, others are welcome to participate without compensation. You may attend multiple mini-courses. Stipends will be compiled and sent out after the end of the term during which the mini-course was held.
    GETSI is funded by the US National Science Foundation. All modules are free and distributed online via the GETSI website.


    ------------------------------
    Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD (she/her)
    UNAVCO Science Education Project Manager
    prattsitaula@unavco.org | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org
    ------------------------------