About Us

The Earth and Planetary Surface Processes (EPSP) Section began, officially, late in 2008, following approval by the AGU of a proposal from the community. As of the 2016 Fall meeting, we have 1027 AGU members who have chosen EPSP as their primary affiliation (and 515 primary student members), and 7186 secondary members. Earth and Planetary Surface Processes is a multidisciplinary field that embraces the full range of processes — including anthropogenic — that generate, erode, and measure landscapes, that generate stratigraphy, and that couple the internal dynamics of the surface to climatic and tectonic forcings.


To join the EPSP Section, log into your account at AGU. Select to update your “Profile” and choose “Earth and Planetary Surface Processes” as your primary “Area of Scientific Interest”.

Get Social!

Keep up to date on all things EPSP by following us on Twitter (@AGU_EPSP). 

Executive Committee

The EPSP Executive Committee is made up of our elected officers (listed to the right), the chairs of each of our committees, and the JGR Earth Surface Editor-in-Chief. The current committee chairs are:

  • Eric Barefoot, University of Minnesota (Student Committee Liaison)
  • Ben Crosby, Idaho State University (Student Travel Awards chair)
  • Amy East, USGS (JGR Earth Surface Editor-in-Chief)
  • Gordon Grant, Oregon State University (EPSP President)
  • Kimberly Hill, University of Minnesota (EPSP President-elect)
  • Nicole Gasparini, Tulane University (Canvassing Committee chair)
  • Claire Masteller, Washington University St. Louis (Social Media chair)
  • Dorothy Merritts, Franklin and Marshall (Past President)
  • Marisa Palucis, Dartmouth College (Fall Meeting Program Committee chair)
  • Joel Scheingross, University of Nevada Reno (Webmaster)
  • Taylor Schildgen, GFZ Potsdam (EPSP Awards committee chair)
  • Eitan Shelef, University of Pittsburgh (OSPA Chair)
  • Noah Snyder, Boston College (EPSP Secretary)
  • Ellen Wohl, Colorado State University (AGU Fellows committee chair)

Our student representative are listed on our Student Committee page

Current Officers

Gordon GrantGordon Grant (President)
USDA Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Research Station, 
Corvallis, OR

Kimberly HillKimberly Hill (President-Elect)
University of Minnesota,
Minneapolis, MN

Gregory HancockNoah Snyder (Secretary)
Boston College,
Boston, MA

Dorothy MerrittsDorothy Merritts (Past-President)
Franklin and Marshall,
Lancaster, PA