Committees

Committees

We rely on many volunteer-run committees to carry out EPSP-related tasks.  Our committees include: 

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee reviews nominations and select awardees for the Gilbert, Leopold, and Williams awards, and any additional section awards. The committee is comprised of the EPSP President, President-Elect, and one each of prior Leopold, Gilbert, and Williams awardees, for 5 members in total. In addition, up to 3 more people but no more than 4, to achieve diversity.
Committee Chair: Taylor Schildgen 

Fellows Committee 
The Fellows Committee reviews EPSP Fellows nominations and ranks nominations for submission to the Union Fellows Committee. The committee consists of the Chair and five other members. The Chair and at least three of the other committee members are Fellows.
Committee Chair: Ellen Wohl 

Fall Meeting Program Committee 
The Fall Meeting Committee organizes all sessions and logistics for the EPSP Section during AGU’s Fall Meeting. While scheduling sessions for the Fall meeting occurs over several days in early September, the committee works year-round as a conduit between AGU’s central programming committee, the EPSP Executive Committee, and our section members. The committee consists of a chair, the past-chair, a graduate student rep, as well as 5-8 committee members that represent the different facets of EPSP (e.g., coastal, fluvial, hillslope, aeolian, planetary, tectonic, periglacial/glacial, granular processes, etc.).
Committee Chair: Marisa Palucis (marisa.c.palucis@dartmouth.edu)
Committee members: Kimberly Hill (past chair; kmhill@umn.edu), Claire Masteller (cmasteller@wustl.edu), Kyle Straub (kmstraub@tulane.edu), Andrew Ashton (aashton@whoi.edu) and Mackenzie Day (daym@epss.ucla.edu).

Canvassing Committee 
The Canvassing Committee educates EPSP membership regarding EPSP and AGU awards, identifies potential awardees and encourage EPSP members to nominate them, and develops processes to encourage broad participation throughout the EPSP community in EPSP and AGU award programs. Committee membership is representative of diverse EPSP communities.
Committee Chair: Jim Pizzuto (pizzuto@udel.edu)
Committee Members: Chenge An (anchenge08@163.com), Nicole Gasparini (ngaspari@tulane.edu), Ruohong Jiao (rjiao@uvic.ca), Madeline Kelley (mmkelle4@asu.edu), Risa Madoff (risa.madoff@und.edu), Robert Mahon (rcmahon@uno.edu), André Batista de Negreiros (andrebnegreiros@gmail.com), Kathleen Nicoll (kathleen.nicoll@gmail.com), Gerald Raab (gr.science@gmx.at), Sepideh Taherian (taheriansepideh03@gmail.com), Suzanne Walther (swalther@sandiego.edu), Elowyn Yager (eyager@uidaho.edu)

Website and Social Media Committee
The Website and Social Media Committee promote EPSP events, members, and activities, and provides a clearinghouse for relevant EPSP information. The committee consists of a dedicated webmaster who is responsible for maintaining the website, a social media coordinator who oversees all social media, one to two ‘day-to-day’ twitter posters who manage the day-to-day operation of our twitter account, and a twitter takeover specialist who organizes the twitter takeovers.
Committee Chairs: Claire Masteller (social media, cmasteller@wustl.edu) and Joel Scheingross (webmaster, jscheingross@unr.edu)

Student Committee
The Student Committee provides opportunities for student involvement in EPSP governance and activities, highlights the work of students and other early career scientists, and helps provide networking/community building activities for students and early career scientists. Per the student committee bylaws “The student committee shall consist of no more than 10 students and no fewer than 4 students. This number of members was selected to create a cohort of voting members for the student committee. Additional volunteers for various initiatives are strongly encouraged to participate.” There is also a student committee liaison (typically a faculty member) who serves as the primary contact and mentor for student committee members.
Student Committee Liaisons: Eric Barefoot and Joel Scheingross (jscheingross@unr.edu)

Student Travel Awards Committee 
The Student Travel Awards Committee reviews and rates submissions for AGU Fall Meeting travel grants from student to the central AGU travel awards website.  Multiple awards are often considered.  Ratings are then used by central AGU officers to decide the distribution of travel awards. The committee consists of 4-6 EPSP non-student members willing to evaluate submissions ahead of the Fall Meeting. 
Committee Chair: Ben Crosby (crosby@isu.edu)