Earth and Planetary Surface Processes

Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching Landslide Analysis to Undergraduates: Planning for Failure and a Safer Society

  • 1.  Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching Landslide Analysis to Undergraduates: Planning for Failure and a Safer Society

    AGU Member
    Posted 19 days ago
    NAGT Webinar Series Presents:
    Thursday, March 26, 2020
    12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET

    Webinar Registration deadline: Tuesday March 24, 2020
    How can geoscientists identify and quantify landslide events using remote sensing data? Introduce your undergraduate students to quantitatively analyzing a variety mast wasting signatures in the landscape.
     
    This webinar introduces instructors to Planning for Failure: Landslide Analysis for a Safer Society teaching module from the GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) project. In this module students learn to do geospatial modeling by developing landslide susceptibility maps in ArcMap. They then apply their findings to making mitigation recommendations to reduce societal risk.
     
    Presenter will include insights from teaching this module online.
     

    The module is appropriate for a variety of majors-level Earth and environmental science courses.

    Online teaching module and webinar are free!



    ------------------------------
    Beth Pratt-Sitaula
    UNAVCO, Inc.
    prattsitaula@unavco.org | (509)899-3480
    ------------------------------