Earth and Planetary Surface Processes

Mini-Course: Teaching about Modeling Flood Hazards - GETSI

  • 1.  Mini-Course: Teaching about Modeling Flood Hazards - GETSI

    Posted 03-18-2021 15:18
    GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) Project presents the mini-course:
    Teaching about Modeling Flood Hazards (Majors-level undergraduate module)
    • Date: Thursday March 25, 2021
    • Time: 12-2 pm PT | 1-3 pm MT | 2-4 pm CT | 3-5 pm ET | 7-9 pm UTC
    • Registration Deadline: Tuesday March 23, 2021
    This mini-course will give instructors a chance to learn about the Modeling Flood Hazards majors-level GETSI module and ideas for teaching it virtually and in-person. It will include interactive opportunities for instructors to actually work through parts of student exercises, learn to use HEC-RAS modeling software, discuss ideas with peers, and work on implementation planning. A great opportunity to start to learn flood hazard modeling. $50 stipend* for completion of the course and short implementation plan. All module units are online-ready or online-adaptable.
     
    Flooding is an essential component of natural riverine ecosystems, yet is one of the most damaging and frequent natural hazards throughout the world. In this module, five units are provided that introduce students to 1) the physical concepts of flooding and its impact on natural environment and humans, 2) methods to estimate flood frequency, 3) using lidar to compute hydraulic properties of streams, 4) hydraulic modeling tools (HEC-RAC) to map flood-prone areas for different return periods. A fifth unit guides students towards translating these probabilities and flow rates to flood risk in a culminating assignment. This module is intended for upper level geosciences and engineering students.
     
    Please note that in order to be able to do all aspects of this mini-course, it is best to have a Windows- or LINEX-based computer. The flood modeling software HEC-RAS does not run on Mac OS directly. You are still welcome to participate in the mini-course either way, but you will learn the most if you can practice the modeling yourself. Details on the preparatory steps for the mini-course.
     
     
    This is part of a larger series with other upcoming opportunities.
    The series is designed to support undergraduate instructors interested in using GETSI modules - teaching resources that  feature data and quantitative skills applied to critical topics such as natural hazards, climate change, and water resources. 
    Each mini-course is two hours long and will focus on one of the published GETSI modules. Unlike a webinar, these mini-courses will include interactive opportunities for instructors to actually work through parts of student exercises, discuss ideas with peers, and work on implementation planning. $50 stipend available.* All first-time participants should watch the ~7 minute introductory video prior to the start of the short course
    *Stipend for participants who complete the Implementation Planning Form by the Sunday after the mini-course. Must be US citizen or permanent resident to receive stipend; however, others are welcome to participate without compensation. You may attend multiple mini-courses. Stipends will be compiled and sent out after the end of the term during which the mini-course was held.
    GETSI is funded by the US National Science Foundation. All modules are free and distributed online via the GETSI website.


    ------------------------------
    Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD (she/her)
    UNAVCO Science Education Project Manager
    prattsitaula@unavco.org | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org
    ------------------------------