Dorothy LaLonde Stout Lecture

About the Lecture and Award

The AGU Education Section is proud to support and share the Dorothy LaLonde Stout Lecture, a named lecture and award beginning in 2021!

This award is named for Dorothy LaLonde Stout to recognize her extraordinary life-long contributions to Earth science education. She was a dedicated parent, revered educator, exemplary leader, and respected scientist, and her contributions to the geoscience education community were wide and varied. We could think of no better person to honor as the namesake of our new award.

Presented for the first time at the 2021 AGU Fall Meeting, the Dorothy LaLonde Stout Lecture recognizes significant contributions in Earth and space science education and public outreach by an individual or team. The lecture will be presented annually and recognizes an individual or team with outstanding contributions in the area of Earth and/or space science pre-K through 16+ education and/or public outreach. The honored individual or the leader of the honored team will be within 10 years of receiving his/her/their Ph.D. or highest equivalent terminal degree.

In addition to the lecture at the AGU Fall Meeting, the award includes:
  • a lecture certificate/plaque
  • recognition
    • at the AGU Fall Meeting
    • in Eos
    • in the Education Section newsletter
  • an invitation to present the lecture at the AGU Fall Meeting
  • a complimentary ticket to the Education Section business meeting at the AGU Fall Meeting.

Dorothy LaLonde Stout
(Photo credit: AGU Honors)

Nomination Information

Nominee Eligibility

  • The nominee must be within 10 years of receiving their Ph.D. or highest equivalent terminal degree, as of 1 January 2021 (we have elected to give a year of grace in recognition of the pandemic).
  • If the nominees are a team, the team lead must be an early career scientist within 10 years of receiving their Ph.D. or the highest equivalent terminal degree as of 1 January 2021 (we have elected to give a year of grace in recognition of the pandemic).
  • The nominee is not required to be an active AGU member.

Nominator Eligibility

  • Nominators are required to hold an active AGU membership.
  • While self-nominations are not permitted, we encourage individuals interested in being nominated for this honor to contract the Education Section Canvassing Committee Chair (Tanya Furman, for advice on how and when to identify a potential nominator. 


Nominations are submitted through the AGU Honors and Recognition online system. 

Nominations for the 2024 Dorothy LaLonde Stout Lecture will open in January 2024.

Nomination packages should include the following four documents:

  • Nomination letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Bibliography
  • Examples and descriptions of education and/or outreach efforts

Each document in the nomination package should be no more than two pages in length per document. Hyper-links in submitted documents are allowed and may enable greater access to information on the nominee’s contributions and impact. The examples and descriptions document should help illustrate and provide evidence of a nominee's outstanding contributions to Earth and space science education and/or outreach. There are many ways in which a nominee may make outstanding contributions to education and/or public outreach (e.g., teaching, mentoring, scholarly work and education research. community building efforts, widespread curriculum adoption, etc). Providing evidence for not only what a nominee does, but descriptions of why and how they approach their work is useful to include.  

Please submit your Stout Lecture inquiries to Kristen St John, President, AGU Education Section ( or Tanya Furman, Canvassing Committee Chair (


2023: Katherine Ryker

Katherine Ryker
(Photo credit: AGU)

2022: Christy Visaggi

    (Photo credit: Twitter)Christy Visaggi
    (Photo credit: Twitter)

    2021: Emily Cooperdock

    (Photo credit: AGU)
    Emily Cooperdock
    (Photo credit: AGU)


    Please direct questions and inquiries regarding the Stout Lecture to Tanya Furman, Past-President ( or Kristen St. John, President (