Honor an Educator Campaign

The AGU Education Section provides a home and voice for educators, students, and education researchers in the Earth and space sciences (ESS). Our Section relies on the donations of members and others in the ESS community to provide programing, travel grants, and events for our members and others in our community.  

In 2023, we were grateful that two generous donors stepped forward which greatly increased the financial support for our section. The match unlocked $5,000 to further expand the Education Section’s work supporting professional development and conference-related expenses of Earth and space science educators and students. 

Contributions to Education Section Fund

(including gifts to Honor an Educator)


Year $$ Raised $$ % Change
2023 $8,920 +55.9%
2022 $5,720 -2.5%
2021 $5,870 +44.2%
2020 $4,070 +93.8%
2019 $2,100 +9.4%
2018 $1,920


Education Section Incentive Results


Year Primary Members (active & lapsed) as of 12/31 Primary Members (active & lapsed) who donated $50+ to any AGU Fund as of 12/31 % Donors
2023 647 25 3.86%
2022 585 14


2021 539 28 5.19%


We welcome all donations, at whatever level you are able to give. In 2024, please continue to contribute to the Honor an Educator fund, and make your gift today in celebration of a teacher or mentor who made a difference in your life or who you see making a difference for others.  


Make Your Gift Today!

heeheehoohoo secret filler text I am

heeheehoohoo secret filler text I am

Remember the professor whose love for science changed the course of your life? The teacher who took the extra time to make sure that you understood a specific concept? The mentor who made your first summer internship unforgettable?

We invite you to honor your favorite educator by making a gift to AGU’s Education Section. Put a smile on the face of a teacher, professor, or mentor who has had a positive impact on your life and help us have a positive impact on the next generation of earth and space science educators at the same time. Your gift will be used to provide funding for the next generation of Earth and space science educators to attend AGU’s Fall Meeting.

Honoring, supporting, and creating opportunities for educators and mentors who share their passion for the Earth and space sciences with the next generation is vital to the future of the planet as we use scientific discoveries to create and shape solutions to our most pressing problems.

When you make a donation to the Education Section, you can choose to “Donate in honor of someone” on the giving form and add information about your special educator. A certificate and notification of the gift will be sent to the person you are honoring.

Learn more by visiting the AGU Honor an Educator Campaign here.


  • Jill Karsten - Honored by Lin Chambers (NASA Headquarters)
  • David McConnell - Honored by Laura Lukes (University of British Columbia)
  • Larry Krissek - Honored by Kristen St John (James Madison University)


  • Jason Keller - Honored by Gregory Goldsmith (Chapman University)
  • Professor Hrvoje Tkalcic - Honored by Costa de Lima (Australian National University)
  • Faculty in the Furman University Earth & Environmental Sciences Program - Honored by Kristen St John (James Madison University)
  • Clifford Hopson - Honored by Lydia Fox (University of the Pacific)
  • Jeff Hughes - Honored by Mark Moldwin (University of Michigan Ann Arbor)
  • Asmeret Asefaw Berhe - Honored by Susan Cheng (University of Michigan Ann Arbor)
  • Takashi Oguchi - Honored by Vincent Tong (Northumbria University Newcastle)
  • Vincent Tong - Honored by Takashi Oguchi (CSIS, University Tokyo)
  • James Soltmann - Honored by Kamini Singha (Colorado School of Mines)
  • Talulah Barber - Honored by Tanya Furman (Pennsylvania State University)


  • Grace Beaudoin - Lunar and Planetary Institute
  • Karin Boessenkool - University of Cologne
  • Robert Butler - University of Portland
  • James Callahan - Mobile Climate Science Labs
  • Lin Chambers - NASA
  • Lydia Fox - University of the Pacific
  • Tanya Furman - Pennsylvania State University
  • Arghya Goswami - NW Missouri State University
  • Joe Heimlich - Center of Science and Industry
  • Diana Ibarra - ISF Academy
  • Roberta Johnson - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Jill Karsten 
  • Tamara Ledley - Bentley University and Sustaining Science Consulting
  • Drew Lehman 
  • Laura Lukes - University of British Columbia
  • Heather Macdonald - College of William and Mary
  • Cathryn Manduca - Science Education Resource Center
  • Fred Marton - Bergen Community College
  • Michael Mayhew
  • Mark Moldwin - University of Michigan Ann Arbor
  • Michael Passow - Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
  • William Prothero - Earth Education Online, UCSB
  • Kristen St John - James Madison University
  • Betsy Wilkening
  • Karl Wirth - Macalester College
  • And two anonymous donors


  • Kjartan Olafsson - University of Bergen
  • Lydia Fox - University of the Pacific
  • David Mogk - Montana State University
  • Stanley Farkas - Secure The Future 2100
  • David Straus - George Mason University Fairfax
  • Bernadette Connell - Colorado State University Fort Collins
  • Joe Heimlich - Center of Science & Industry
  • Michele Stillinger - University of St. Thomas
  • Lauren Neitzke Adamo - Rutgers University New Brunswick
  • Chiara Montagna - Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia
  • Mark Moldwin - University of Michigan