About Us

Current Leadership

(Click here for past members)

Geoff Reeves, President-ElectPresident - Geoff Reeves

AGU member since 1986. Research Fellow, Los Alamos National Laboratory. Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA.

Volunteer experience: Past volunteer positions have provided valuable experience for the position of SPA President. I served as Associate Editor for JGR, chair of the SPA Fellows Selection Committee, and organizer for Chapman Conferences and meeting sessions. Outside AGU I served on three Mission Definition Teams, the Science Architecture Team that led to the LWS mission line, and several NASA Roadmap and NRC Decadal Survey teams. I also represented DoE on the National Space Weather Program council.

Therese-ConvertImage.jpgPresident Elect - Therese Moretto-Jørgensen

AGU member since 1995. Program Manager, NASA Ames Research Center. Moffett Field, California, USA.

Volunteer experience: Highlights from community service performed during my 13 years as program director in the Geospace section of National Science Foundation (NSF) Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS) includes creating new programs for CubeSats and space weather research; promoting Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA) science in cross-disciplinary and interagency programs; conducting program reviews with the National Research Council (NRC); contributing to the National Space Weather Program; increasing diversity of reviewers and principal investigators. Outside NSF I served on review panels for the European Union and NASA and on mission definition teams for two European Space Agency (ESA) missions.

Christina Cohen, PresidentPast President - Christina Cohen

AGU member since 1988. Member of the Professional Staff, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif.

Volunteer experience includes chair of Solar, Heliospheric, Interplanetary Environment (SHINE) steering committee, 2007–2010; chair of AGU Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA) section Fellows committee, 2013–2014; Eos editor for Space Physics, 2010–present; member of the Portfolio Review Committee of the Geospace section of NSF/AGS, 2015–2016; Scientist for Solar Week, 2004–present (an outreach program to encourage middle school girls to pursue science).

Romina Nikoukar, Secretary AeronomySecretary: Aeronomy - Romina Nikoukar

AGU member since 2007. Senior Scientist, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory. Laurel, Maryland, USA.

Volunteer experience includes: Coupling, Energetics and Dynamics of Atmospheric Regions (CEDAR) Science Steering Committee, Arecibo Observatory User Committee, AGU Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA) Outstanding Student Paper Awards Committee,  AGU SPA Fred L. Scarf Awards Committee, Acting AGU SPA Aeronomy Secretary, Convener of sessions at AGU and CEDAR.

Christina O. Lee, Secretary, Solar-Heliospheric PhysicsSecretary: Solar-Heliospheric Physics - Christina O. Lee

AGU member since 2002. Assistant Research Scientist, Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley. 

Volunteer experience includes serving on the AGU Basu United States Early Career Award Committee (2017–2019) and the American Meteorological Society (AMS) Scientific and Technical Activities Commission (STAC) Committee on Space Weather (2017–present); Judge for the Outstanding Student Paper Award in the AGU Space Physics and Aeronomy section (2010–2017); UC Berkeley Earth Academy Program content partner.

Amy Keesee Secretary: Magnetospheric Physics - Amy Keesee

Associate ProfessorUniversity of New HampshireDurham, New Hampshire, USA

Volunteer experience includes: Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA) Nomination Task Force (NTF) since its inception in 2017, chair during 2018-2019. Prior to the NTF, worked to increase nominations of women through the Earth Science Women's Network. Member of the SPA Education and Public Outreach Committee since 2014, committee secretary since 2016. American Physical Society (APSDivision of Plasma Physics Program Committee for three meetings, Astro/Space Subcommittee chair for 2020 meeting. Association for Women in Science: chair of Chapters Committee 2016-2017, president of WV Chapter, 2007-2014.

Chris R. Gilly, Student Representative, WebmasterWebmaster - CR Gilly

AGU member since 2014. Graduate Research Assistant, Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics. 

Volunteer experience includes: Graduate Events Coordinator at the SHINE conference 2016-2019, and as Student Representative for 2020 - 2022; Secretary of the Georgia Tech Society of Physics Students in 2014; Public Talk Facilitator and Speaker at the Fiske Planetarium; SBO Observatory Committee Chair in 2016. Check out gilly.space for more!

Page last updated on 02/15/21