Home

GEODESY

Geodesy is a branch of geophysics that studies the geometrical, structural, and gravitational properties of the Earth, their time evolution, and the dynamic interactions of the solid Earth with other physical components of the Earth system (atmosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and the core), at a wide range of temporal and spatial scales. Geodesists also study the corresponding topics for other planets in the solar system.

Learn More

Announcements


Upcoming Talks in the Geodesy Lecture Series!
Please mark your calendars with the following upcoming webinars. These invited talks are a part of the new early career geodesy lecture series promoted by the Geodesy Section and supported by AGU.  You can see this Link to the full list of past and upcoming webinars for more information.  

Julia Pfeffer, Department of Earth Observation, Magellium, Toulouse, France
January 28, 8am Pacific Time/11am Eastern Time (US)
Title: "Climate Fingerprints from Space Geodesy"
New Zoom Link: https://agu.zoom.us/j/4945128979?pwd=VnMyUWtGaFlJb0I4ZUZ6VEgzQU5Fdz09

Abstract:  This seminar will focus on the impact of climate change and climate variability on GRACE and GRACE-FO satellite observation of the global water cycle. I will first explain the issues associated with the identification of processes triggering climate variability, using the example of the Australian Black Summer (2019/2020). Then, I will present the GRACE and GRACE-FO missions, focusing on the contribution of climate variability to the global water cycle. Finally, I am going to present two different ways to extract the climate variability from GRACE measurements, using climate modes and process-oriented models. In conclusion, I will present the strengths and limitations of both approaches.

Kristel Chanard, Université de Paris - IPGP, Géodésie - IGN, France
February 5, 5 pm CET/11am Eastern Time (US)

Title: TBD
Zoom link: TBD

Dara Goldberg, U.S. Geological Survey, Golden, Colorado, USA
March 23, 10 am MT/9 am Pacific Time/12 pm Eastern Time (US)
Title: TBD
Zoom link: TBD

Anna Riddell, Geoscience Australia
9:00 am Thursday April 21 AEST (Australia)/Wednesday April 20 7:00pm Eastern (US)/4:00pm Pacific (US)
Title: Vertical Land Motion of Australia from GNSS and geophysical models
Zoom link: TBD

Grace Nield, Durham University, UK
May 31, 2 pm BST/9 am EDT (US)
Title: TBD
Zoom link: TBD

--

Publications

Career Listings


Announcements


Upcoming Talks in the Geodesy Lecture Series!
Please mark your calendars with the following upcoming webinars. These invited talks are a part of the new early career geodesy lecture series promoted by the Geodesy Section and supported by AGU.  You can see this Link to the full list of past and upcoming webinars for more information.  

January 28, 8am Pacific Time/11am Eastern Time (US)
Julia Pfeffer, Department of Earth Observation, Magellium, Toulouse, France

Title: "Climate Fingerprints from Space Geodesy"
New Zoom Link: https://agu.zoom.us/j/95050009596?pwd=Z3BaNjJXNVlLVDVLQS9qNWhzTXF2QT09 

Abstract:
This seminar will focus on the impact of climate change and climate variability on GRACE and GRACE-FO satellite observation of the global water cycle. I will first explain the issues associated with the identification of processes triggering climate variability, using the example of the Australian Black Summer (2019/2020). Then, I will present the GRACE and GRACE-FO missions, focusing on the contribution of climate variability to the global water cycle. Finally, I am going to present two different ways to extract the climate variability from GRACE measurements, using climate modes and process-oriented models. In conclusion, I will present the strengths and limitations of both approaches.


February 5, 5 pm CET/11am Eastern Time (US)
Kristel Chanard, Université de Paris - IPGP, Géodésie - IGN, France

Title: TBD
Zoom link: TBD

March 23, 10 am MT/9 am Pacific Time/12 pm Eastern Time (US)
Dara Goldberg, U.S. Geological Survey, Golden, Colorado, USA

Title: TBD
Zoom link: TBD

9:00 am Thursday April 21 AEST (Australia)/Wednesday April 20 7:00pm Eastern (US)/4:00pm Pacific (US)
Anna Riddell, Geoscience Australia
Title: Vertical Land Motion of Australia from GNSS and geophysical models
Zoom link: TBD

May 31, 2 pm BST/9 am EDT (US)
Grace Nield, Durham University, UK

Title: TBD
Zoom link: TBD

--