Turco Lectureship

Basic Information

The Future Horizons in Climate Science: Turco Lectureship was established through a donation by Richard P. and Linda S. Turco and highlights signal research on climate change through noteworthy lectures by recognized leaders in the field. Each lecture is intended to be as forward-looking as possible, identifying future areas of research that will ultimately engage both new and established scientific talent in solving the problem of global warming and related issues. Lecture topics will represent all fields relevant to climate systems, spanning global and macro scales as well as microscopic processes. While the scientific aspects of climate are to be strongly emphasized, speakers will also be encouraged to raise significant implications for climate-related policy, and implementation of an expanding base of knowledge on climate processes, change, and manipulation.

Citation/Scope Statement: In recognition of seminal interdisciplinary scientific research discoveries or advancements through observations or analyses and addressing key questions or uncertainties in the broad and dynamic field of climate science

Lecture Includes:

  • Lecture certificate
  • Announcement in Eos
  • $2000 honorarium
  • Invitation to present the Turco Lectureship at the AGU Fall Meeting during the lecture presentation year
  • Recognition at the AGU Fall Meeting during the lecture presentation year
  • Complimentary ticket to the Atmospheric Sciences Business Meeting/Banquet at the AGU Fall Meeting during the lecture presentation year
Frequency: Presented annually.

Nomination Process & Requirements

All section named lectures are not required to follow a nomination cycle process. Sections have the flexibility to adopt what process will be serve their communities in seeking their lecture recipients.

Nomination Process

Nomination letters should be no more than two pages in length, and should emphasize a nominee's qualifications to meet the selection criteria and qualifications per the award description.

Eligible Nominees

  • Active AGU membership is NOT required
  • Nominee must be an active scientist of recognized stature and accomplishments in fields related to or supporting climate science.
  • Nominee should have the skills necessary to communicate clearly to an interdisciplinary professional audience.
  • Nominees at any career stage is eligible as long as they have published acknowledged definitive work introducing new research areas, approaches, or pathways.

Ineligible Nominees, Nominators & Supporters

  • President, President-Elect and Secretary of the AGU Atmospheric Sciences Section
  • Turco Lectureship Committee Members
  • Self-nominations are not accepted

Eligible Nominators and Supporters

  • Open to public
  • Multiple nominators for a candidate are allowed; however it is often suggested that they collaborate so as to submit a more robust package for the nominee


Nominations for the Turco Lectureship are being accepted. Nominations can be submitted to Dr. Allison Steiner until March 27 2024. Should you have any questions, please contact the AGU Honors Team for assistance.

2019 Fall Meeting abstract submissions are now open

Past Recipients

2021 Yuan Wang
2020 Elizabeth A. Barnes
2019 Alex Hall
2018 Jennifer E. Kay


Paul A. Newman
AGU AS Section President