Jule Charney Lecture

About the Lecture

Jule Charney

The Jule Gregory Charney Lecture is presented annually to a prominent scientist who has made exceptional contributions to the understanding of weather and climate. The Charney Lecture honors the memory of Jule G. Charney, a dominant figure in atmospheric science over the three decades following World War II. He influenced the change in meteorology from an art to a science and demonstrated commitment to the people and programs in this field.

The Charney Lecture is also a part of the Bowie Lecture Series, established in 1989 to commemorate the 50th presentation of the William Bowie medal, AGU's highest honor. The Bowie medal is named in honor of AGU's first president.

Lecturer Benefits

AGU is proud to recognize our section honorees. Recipients of the Jule Gregory Charney Lecture will receive the following benefits during the lecture presentation year:

  • Lecture certificate
  • Recognition in Eos
  • Recognition at the AGU Fall Meeting
  • An invitation to present the Jule Charney Lecture at the AGU Fall Meeting
  • Complimentary ticket to the Atmospheric Sciences business meeting at the AGU Fall Meeting


Nominations for the Jule Charney Lecture are being accepted. Please submit your nomination package or Bjerknes Lecture inquiries to Dr. Allison Steiner by March 27 2024.

Nomination Information

Nomination letters should be no more than two pages in length, and should emphasize a nominee's qualifications to meet the selection criteria and qualifications per the award description.


Members of the general public can submit nominations for the Lecture. Multiple nominators for a single candidate are encouraged to collaborate on the nomination package.


The nominee is required to be an active AGU member. Self-nominations are not accepted.


Members of the general public can write letters supporting nominees for the Lecture.


The following individuals are not eligible to be candidates, nominators, or supporters for the award during their terms of service:

  • AGU Atmospheric Sciences section leadership
  • AGU President
  • AGU President-elect
  • Council Leadership Team members
  • Honors and Recognition Committee members
  • Lecture Committee members
  • All full-time AGU staff

The following relationships need to be identified and communicated to the Award Committee but will not disqualify individuals from participating in the nomination or committee review process. These apply to committee members, nominators, and supporters:

  • Current dean, departmental chair, supervisor, supervisee, laboratory director, an individual with whom one has a current business or financial relationship (e.g., business partner, employer, employee)
  • Research collaborator or co-author within the last three years
  • An individual working at the same institution or having accepted a position at the same institution.

Individuals with the following relationships are disqualified from participating in the award nomination process as a nominator or supporter:

  • Family member, spouse, or partner.
  • A previous graduate (Master’s or Ph.D.) and/or postdoctoral advisor, or postdoctoral fellow may not write a nomination letter but may write a supporting letter after five years of terminating their relationship with the nominee beginning on 1 January after the year the relationship was terminated.
  • A former doctoral or graduate student, or a former postdoctoral fellow may not write a nomination letter for a former advisor but may write a supporting letter after five years of terminating their relationship with the nominee beginning on 1 January after the year the relationship was terminated.

List of Charney Lecturers


Jerry Mahlman


David Rind


Mark Schoeberl


James Anderson


John (Mike) Wallace

View Presentation


Kevin Hamilton

View Presentation


Kerry Emanuel

View Presentation


Thomas Peter

View Presentation


David W. J. Thompson

View Presentation


Brian Mapes

View Presentation


Peter Webster


Owen Brian Toon

View Presentation


Inez Fung


Ellen Mosley-Thompson

View Presentation

Download Presentation


Graeme Stephens

View Presentation


Drew Shindell

View Presentation


Leonard A. Smith


Ulrike Lohman

View Presentation


Meinrat Andreae

View Presentation


Daniel Jacob


Bjorn Stevens


Paul Newman


Neil Donahue


Venkatachalam “Ram” Ramaswamy


Wayne H. Schubert


Adam Sobel