Christina Cohen, PresidentPresident - Christina Cohen

AGU member since 1988. Member of the Professional Staff, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif.

Volunteer experience includes chair of Solar, Heliospheric, Interplanetary Environment (SHINE) steering committee, 2007–2010; chair of AGU Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA) section Fellows committee, 2013–2014; Eos editor for Space Physics, 2010–present; member of the Portfolio Review Committee of the Geospace section of NSF/AGS, 2015–2016; Scientist for Solar Week, 2004–present (an outreach program to encourage middle school girls to pursue science).

Geoff Reeves, President-ElectPresident-Elect - Geoff Reeves

AGU member since 1986. Research Fellow, Los Alamos National Laboratory. Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA.

Volunteer experience: Past volunteer positions have provided valuable experience for the position of SPA President. I served as Associate Editor for JGR, chair of the SPA Fellows Selection Committee, and organizer for Chapman Conferences and meeting sessions. Outside AGU I served on three Mission Definition Teams, the Science Architecture Team that led to the LWS mission line, and several NASA Roadmap and NRC Decadal Survey teams. I also represented DoE on the National Space Weather Program council.

Larry J. Paxton, Past PresidentPast President - Larry J. Paxton

Larry J. Paxton is the Head of the Geospace and Earth Science Group at the Applied Physics Laboratory of the Johns Hopkins University. Larry is interested in developing new techniques and opportunities for the use of outer space to further our understanding of the Sun-Earth system, its relationship to human activities and needs, and to support our outward journey.

Larry has been an AGU convener for over 30 sessions in addition to service on various national and international committees, NASA panels, NASA working groups and NRC/NAS panels including the “Heliophysics Decadal Survey” and the NASA Heliophysics Roadmap. Larry has also been actively involved in the International Academy of Astronautics having Chaired Commission 4 on Space Operations and Utilization. Larry has worked to provide others the opportunity to publish and promote our ideas and advance science and welcomes opportunities to collaborate. He has collaborated with over 100 scientists in the community with more than 240 papers. According to Google Scholar, his work has been cited over 3000 times with an h-index of 28; and i10 (papers cited 10 times or more) index of 61.

He received his Ph.D. from the University of Colorado in Astrophysical, Planetary and Atmospheric Sciences. His B.S. in Physics is from the University of Santa Clara.

Romina Nikoukar, Secretary AeronomySecretary Aeronomy - Romina Nikoukar

AGU member since 2007. Senior Scientist, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory. Laurel, Maryland, USA.

Volunteer experience includes: Coupling, Energetics and Dynamics of Atmospheric Regions (CEDAR) Science Steering Committee, Arecibo Observatory User Committee, AGU Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA) Outstanding Student Paper Awards Committee,  AGU SPA Fred L. Scarf Awards Committee, Acting AGU SPA Aeronomy Secretary, Convener of sessions at AGU and CEDAR.

Elizabeth Macdonald, Secretary Magnetospheric PhysicsSecretary Magnetospheric Physics - Elizabeth Macdonald

AGU member since 1998. Research Space Physicist/Program Scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.

Volunteer experience includes National Research Council’s Committee on Solar and Space Physics (2014–2016); AGU Scarf Award Committee (2013–2014); Geospace Environment Modeling (GEM) organizing committee (2010–2013), focus group co-leader, Magnetic Mapping (2010–2015); CEDAR/GEM joint organizing committee (2013, 2016); public speaker; mentor (16 individuals); AGU, NASA, NSF reviewer. Also NASA Van Allen Probes Co-I (2011-present); founder/lead, Aurorasaurus.org (2012–present); experienced lead of diverse R/D projects to optimize scope, reduce risk, and meet deliverables (2011–present); member, Citizen Science Communities of Practice.

Christina O. Lee, Secretary, Solar-Heliospheric PhysicsSecretary, Solar-Heliospheric Physics - Christina O. Lee

AGU member since 2002. Assistant Research Scientist IV, University of California, Berkeley. 

Volunteer experience includes serving on the AGU Basu United States Early Career Award Committee  (2017–present) and the American Meteorological Society (AMS) Scientific and Technical Activities Commission (STAC) Committee on Space Weather  (2017–present); judge for the Outstanding Student Paper Award in the AGU Space Physics and Aeronomy section (2010–2017); 2010 Editors’ Citation for Excellence in Refereeing for the Space Weather Journal; UC Berkeley Earth Academy Program content partner.