Leptoukh Lecture Nominations


It is important for the advancement of the Union to promote a culture where we identify and support achievements in the computational and data sciences. In today’s world, issues of data management and analysis, large-scale computation and modeling, and hardware and software infrastructure affect each section of the AGU. The Earth and Space Science Informatics Section facilitates recognition of such achievements by working with the AGU to host a named lecture focused on advances in computational sciences, data sciences, and informatics that lead to, or enable, advances in science that are pertinent to the Union.

The goal of the Leptoukh Lecture is to recognize the awardee’s research, educational, or other accomplishments and the Union impact of his/her work. Prior advances in computation, instrumentation, and data handling facilitate many science advances within the Union. This lecture highlights the enabling capabilities of informatics as well as accomplishments of individual scientists. Thus, this lecture aims to raise awareness of the often-overlooked computational and data advances that enable breakthroughs in science, as well as foster exceptional individuals to make continued contributions in informatics and data science.

The Leptoukh Lecture is named in honor of the late Dr. Greg Leptoukh from NASA/GSFC. Greg was an Earth scientist who was very active in the informatics community. He was involved in many projects related to data quality and data provenance. Greg’s passing in January of 2012 was a loss to the Earth science and informatics communities.


There are no educational or professional requirements for this award, e.g. Ph.D., post-doctoral experience, etc. No one individual may receive the award more than once.

Nominating Documents

The nomination process consists of submitting a nominating letter, the CV of the nominee, and at least two supporting letters. All documents included in a nomination package should be no more than two (2) pages in length. The nominating letter should describe the individual’s accomplishments and background. Up to three letters of support may be submitted (total number does not include the nomination letter). The two required supporting letters should be from individuals not currently or recently associated with the candidate’s institution of education or employment. Nomination and supporting letters must clearly articulate how the candidate’s research, educational, or other advancements over a sustained period of time have made significant impact on the field. The letters must clearly explain the contributions and their importance so that not only their peers but also those outside the nominee’s specific work/research area can understand them.

The first paragraph of each nomination and supporting letter should include the name of the candidate and a few sentences giving the overall reasons for nominating or supporting the candidate. The body of the nominating letter, which could be a few paragraphs, should give a brief and concise history of the candidate’s work and any publications and/or outcomes that have resulted. Both the nominating and supporting letters should state how the work has contributed to the field overall and/or to the growth of the field, as well as what insights have been gained and what impacts the work will have on current and future work.

The last paragraph of the nomination and supporting letters should summarize the work, state who has benefited, and highlight some of the candidate’s recognition’s and notable service to his/her field.

The curriculum vitae should list the nominee’s (1) name, (2) contact information, (3) employer, and (4) work history, memberships, publications, service work, and other honors pertinent to this evaluation.

Submission Process

Nominations will be accepted between 1st January and April 15th, 2023. The winner will be notified in mid-May and invited to give the 2023 Leptoukh Lecture at the Fall AGU Meeting.

Nominating documents should be sent (as a single PDF file) to the chair of the committee for consideration by the members of the ESSI Awards Committee.

The 2023 Leptoukh Lecture committee consists of members of the ESSI Section Executive Committee, last year’s recipient, and members of the informatics community at large.

AGU Leptoukh Lecture Award Committee membership 2023

 Email Appointed
Kirk Martinez (Chair person) km@ecs.soton.ac.uk 2023
Erin Robinson erinmr@gmail.com 2023
Ben Evans ben.evans@anu.edu.au 2023
Charles Zender zender@uci.edu 2023