Franklin Lecture

Franklin Lecture

The Benjamin Franklin Lecture honors the life and work of scientist Benjamin Franklin. In addition to being one of the founding fathers of the United States, Franklin is internationally known for his discoveries and theories regarding atmospheric electricity and lightning.

The Atmospheric and Space Electricity (ASE) section has established the Benjamin Franklin Lecture to recognize outstanding scientists in any field of ASE. Lecturers are recognized for highly accomplished and interdisciplinary work toward the advancement and promotion of discovery. The lecture itself is intended to give a broad historical overview of a selected ASE topic that will be of interest to an interdisciplinary audience.

The award includes a certificate, announcement in Eos and other AGU media, an invitation to present a talk at the AGU Fall Meeting, and recognition at the Fall Meeting. The award is presented bi-annually, currently in odd-numbered years.

Nomination Process and Requirements

Franklin lecturers are selected based on nomination by members of the ASE or AGU communities or the general public. A nomination must include a letter of recommendation from the nominator and from any supporters stating why the candidate is well suited to give the Franklin Lecture. The Letter should briefly explain the importance of the science conducted by the Nominee or by those coworkers that the Nominee has directly influenced in the field of ASE. Any evidence of how the Nominee has contributed to the advancement of discovery for the benefit of humanity should also be included.

Multiple nominators for a candidate are allowed; however, it is often suggested that they collaborate so as to submit a more robust package for the nominee.

Nominations for the Franklin Lecture can be submitted to the Atmospheric and Space Electricity Section President, Morris Cohen.

The Franklin Lecturer is chosen from among the nominees by a committee (chair TBA) charged with the broad evaluation of the candidates, including but not limited to the nomination packages. Committee members are not eligible to submit nominations. More information is available at the AGU Honors Program page or contact Morris Cohen with questions.

Past Recipients

Since 2004, the Franklin Lecture has been given biannually at the AGU Fall Meeting. Past Franklin lectures have been delivered by