Fellows 2009


  • Roger Buck, Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University.  For ‘his fundamental modeling contributions to the understanding of geodynamic processes within the crust and upper mantle’.
  • Ken Buesseler, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.  For ‘leadership and fundamental advances in using radioisotopes to study and quantify upper ocean biogeochemical processes’.
  • Antonio Busalacchi, University of Maryland, College Park.  For ‘contributions in understanding seasonal and interannual variability in the tropics, particularly through the development and application of remote sensing technologies’.
  • Earl Davis, Pacific Geoscience Center.  For ‘innovative utilization of marine geothermal and hydrogeological instrumentation which has provided unique scientific insight into the tectonic evolution of ocean crust’.
  • Steven Lentz, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.  For ‘his outstanding contributions to coastal physical oceanography through his ability to extract clear, rigorous truths from complex models and data’.
  • John Morse, Texas A&M University.  For ‘his contributions to our understanding of the physical- and bio-geochemistry of carbonate and sulfidic sediments, especially the role of kinetics in controlling carbon and sulfur cycling’.
  • James Murray, University of Washington.  For  ‘wide-ranging contributions in marine geochemistry, especially his groundbreaking work on the surface chemistry of natural particles in the ocean, redox processes in modern sediments, and the leadership of complex field programs that captured these processes.’
  • Clare Reimers, Oregon State University.  For ‘pioneering development and innovative application of microsensors for in situ elucidation of biogeochemical processes and elemental cycling at the seafloor’.
  • David Siegel, University of California-Santa Barbara.  For ‘accelerating our understanding of the biogeochemistry and the biological carbon pump of the ocean using novel optical measurements, analyses, and models’.
  • Richard Thomson, Institute of Ocean Sciences.  For ‘the depth, breadth, quality and abundance of his scientific contributions to understanding physical, chemical, and biological interactions within the oceans of our solar system’.
  • Richard Wanninkhof, NOAA AOML.  For ‘his ground breaking research and scientific leadership on air-sea gas exchange and the global carbon cycle’.