Fellows 2004


  • William Curry, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, "For his seminal contributions to Paleoceanography, including elucidating the history of deep water flow in three dimensions, and mentoring junior scientists entering Paleoceanography,"
  • Margaret Delaney, University of California, Santa Cruz, "For her innovative work defining links between biogeochemically important elements and past changes in climate; and her altruistic and exemplary service to the oceanographic community."
  • Steven Emerson, University of Washington (with Biogeochemistry), "For his fundamental contributions to understanding the transport of carbon from the surface ocean into marine sediments and its consequences for carbonate preservation and paleoclimate."
  • William Normark, USGS (with Tectonophysics), "In recognition of his pioneering research on the formation and actions of turbidity currents, the creation and deposition of deep sea turbidite and massive slide bodies, and the accumulation of hydrothermal mineral masses at spreading centers."
  • Ronald Oremland, USGS (with Biogeochemistry), "For his fundamental contributions of major relevance in geochemistry, atmospheric and environmental chemistry and ecology through his basic discoveries of novel pathways of microbial metabolism of environmentally significant metals and climate-relevant trace gases."
  • Joseph Prospero, University of Miami (with Atmospheric Sciences), "For his outstanding research and international leadership in understanding mineral aerosols and their role in atmospheric and oceanic processes."
  • Sharon Smith, University of Miami, "For her leadership in the understanding of how, through evolution, zooplankton life cycles are intimately adapted to particular physical regimes and how these unique physical-biological couplings affect the broader marine ecosystem, including the oceanic carbon cycle."
  • John Toole, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, "For his significant discoveries and descriptions of ocean processes from turbulent mixing to the general circulation and for his innovative development of instruments to observe these processes."
  • Edward Winterer, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, "For outstanding contributions to the understanding of the geology of the Pacific Basin and the history of the Tethys"