Science and Society Liaison Program

Science and Society (SY) currently has over 2,500 individuals who are SY members, but of those, under 400 list SY as their primary affiliation. AGU members who are interested in science policy and social science tend to affiliate most closely with the section that reflects their primary research. In order to reach the high number of scientists who have an interest in societal impacts but are not actively involved in the SY Section, SY has instituted a liaison program.

The goal of the SY liaison program is to build a larger cohort of people who are actively involved in SY beyond those who have signed up for the section. SY hopes to do this by integrating information about key societal impacts and policy sciences events and opportunities into the newsletters, Fall Meeting sessions and events, and websites of other AGU sections.

Current SY Liaisons

Name: Mona Behl
Institution: University of Georgia 
Sections/Focus Groups: Global Environmental Change / Natural Hazards/Nonlinear Geophysics / Ocean Sciences

Name: Jennifer Biank
Institution: Blue Marble Space
Sections/Focus Groups: Bieogeosciences / Planetary Sciences / Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology

Name: Ian Bolliger
Institution: University of California, Berkeley
Sections/Focus Groups: Cryosphere Sciences / Global Environmental Change

Name: Maya Buchanan
Institution: Climate Central, Inc
Sections/Focus Groups: Ocean Sciences

Name: Denise Hills
Institution: Geological Survey of Alabama
Sections/Focus Groups: Earth and Space Science Informatics / Near-Surface Geophysics

Name: Michael Hirsch
Institution: Boston University
Sections/Focus Groups: Space Physics and Aeronomy

Name: Alexander Krokus
Institution: Institute for Sustainable Solutions, Portland State University
Sections/Focus Groups: Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism, and Electromagnetism / Global Environmental Change / Seismology / Tectonophysics

Name: Kristopher Larsen
Institution: University of Colorado
Sections/Focus Groups: Earth and Space Science Informatics / Planetary Sciences / Space Physics and Aeronomy

Name: John Rummel 
Institution: SETI Institute
Sections/Focus Groups: Planetary Sciences

Name: Gyami Shrestha
Institution: U.S. Carbon Cycle Science Program Office, Carbon Cycle Interagency Working Group (CCIWG) and University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR)
Sections/Focus Groups: Biogeosciences / Global Environmental Change

Name: Asna Sharma
Institution: Cornell University
Sections/Focus Groups: Biogeosciences / Earth and Planetary Surface Processes / Global Environmental Change / Hydrology / Nonlinear Geophysics

Name: Katie Taladay
Institution: University of Hawaii at Manoa
Sections/Focus Groups: Tectonophysics / Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology

Name: Annie Tamalavage
Institution: Texas A&M University
Sections/Focus Groups: Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology

Name: Scott Worland
Institution: USGS
Sections/Focus Groups: Biogeosciences / Earth and Planetary Surface Processes / Hydrology / Near-Surface Geophysics