Ronald Greeley Early Career Award in Planetary Science

The Planetary Sciences Section of AGU is seeking nominations for the Ronald Greeley Early Career Award in Planetary Science. This award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of significant early career contributions to planetary science.

The award is named for Planetary Scientist Ronald Greeley. Ron was a planetary science pioneer whose contributions include the rigorous application of terrestrial field observation techniques to the analysis of planetary surfaces. He was involved in nearly every major planetary science mission from the 70s until his death in 2011. He was active in his service to the Planetary Science community, serving on and chairing many panels for both NASA and the National Academy of Sciences. But perhaps his greatest legacy to Planetary Science are the students, postdocs, and colleagues he mentored through the decades. Many of the leaders of our field were either directly mentored by Ron, or strongly influenced by his work. He was happiest when sharing his passion for geology with students in the field. It is this passion for planetary science that the Section hopes to encourage and reward with the Ronald Greeley Early Career Award.

Nominees must be a member or affiliate of the AGU Planetary Sciences Section and must be within six years of receiving their Ph.D. on the first day of the year in which the award is to be made (i.e., on or after 1 January 2006 for the 2012 award.) Parental leave, if provided by the candidate's institution and taken by the nominee during this six-year period, can extend the six-year period.

Further details and requirements can be found on the Ronald Greeley Early Career Award in Planetary Science Nominations web page.

Deadline: April 15.

Ronald Greeley

Whipple Award

The Whipple Award was established in 1989 to honor an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of planetary science. The award is named after Fred Whipple, a gifted astronomer most noted for his work on comets. Whipple was an AGU Fellow elected in 1962 and the Section's first Whipple Award honoree in 1990. Whipple passed away in 2004. His many accomplishments are described in this CfA Press Release.

Past Awardees have spanned the breadth and depth of the planetary sciences section. Nominations are accepted at any time but reviewed annually in the summer. Nomination packages must be received by the deadline. Details and requirements can be found on the Whipple Award Nominations web page.

Deadline: April 15.

Fred Whipple

AGU Awards & Honors

AGU has a diverse program for recognizing members and others who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the geophysical sciences, to the service of the community, and to the public's understanding.

For AGU Union Medals, Awards and Fellows nominations please refer to the AGU Honors page for further information.

Visit AGU Awards & Honors for complete details.