Earth and Planetary Surface Processes

Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching undergrads about floods: frequency, modeling, and mitigation

  • 1.  Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching undergrads about floods: frequency, modeling, and mitigation

    AGU Member
    Posted 09-09-2020 18:10
    NAGT Webinar Series Presents:
    Thursday, September 17, 2020
    12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET

    Webinar Registration deadline: Tuesday September 15, 2020
    How do scientists and engineers determine flood hazards and make hazard maps? Join this webinar to learn ways to engage your undergraduate students in quantitatively analyzing and modeling flood hazards.
     
    This webinar introduces instructors to Modeling Flood Hazards teaching module from the GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) project. In this module students learn to do determine flood frequency from gauging data and make flood hazard maps using HEC-RAS. They then apply their findings to identifying vulnerable societal infrastructure making mitigation recommendations to reduce risk.
     
    The module is appropriate for a variety of majors-level Earth and environmental science and engineering courses. It is particularly designed for hydrology courses but has also been taught in geomorphology and hazards-related courses.
     
    Online teaching module and webinar are free!


    ------------------------------
    Beth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD (she/her)
    UNAVCO Science Education Project Manager
    prattsitaula@unavco.org | 509-899-3480 | www.unavco.org
    ------------------------------