Earth and Planetary Surface Processes

Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching About the Water Cycle with Data-rich Water Resources Activities

  • 1.  Webinar & Teaching Module: Teaching About the Water Cycle with Data-rich Water Resources Activities

    AGU Member
    Posted 02-19-2020 17:52
    Edited by Beth Pratt-Sitaula 02-19-2020 23:33
    Hello All
    NAGT Webinar Series Presents:
    Thursday, February 27, 2020
    9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

    Webinar Registration deadline: Tuesday February 25, 2020

    Knowing where water is coming from will play an increasingly important role in our warming and changing Earth. Give you undergraduate students an opportunity to analyze a wide variety of water-related data sets from reflection GPS snow depth and SNOTEL to gravity satellites and groundwater wells.

    This webinar introduces instructors to 
    Eyes on the Hydrosphere: Tracking Water Resources teaching module from the GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) project. During the module students not only learn to increase their data analysis skills, but gain experience in tying the measurements to societal water use and needs. Case studies are taken from the Rocky Mountains (snow/surface water dominated) and Great Plains (rain/groundwater dominated) and then the module culminates in students exploring data sets and water issues from their own region.

    The module is appropriate for a wide variety of undergraduate intro- and mid-level Earth and environmental science courses.

    Online teaching module and webinar are free!


    ------------------------------
    Beth Pratt-Sitaula
    UNAVCO, Inc.
    prattsitaula@unavco.org | (509)899-3480
    ------------------------------