Blog Viewer

2019 Union and Section Award Winners

By Joseph Woo posted 09-24-2019 16:30


The AS section would like to congratulate its members who will be recognized for their professional excellence and leadership at the 2019 Fall Meeting. In particular:

AGU Fellows are individuals who have made exceptional contributions to Earth and space sciences as valued by their peers and vetted by a committee of Fellows. New AS affiliated Fellows this year are:

  • Sonia Kreidenweis – Colorado State University
  • Karl Taylor - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Ken Carslaw – University of Leeds
  • Lorenzo Polvani – Columbia University
  • Piers Forster – University of Leeds
  • Tong Zhu – Peking University
  • Andrew Dessler - Texas A&M
  • Rosanne D'Ariggo - Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
  • Peter Gent – National Center for Atmospheric Research

Also, the James B. Macelwane Medal is given to Emily Fischer (Colorado State University) and Amir AghaKouchak (University of California, Irvine) for "significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding early career scientist." The 2019 Roger Revelle Medal is given to Eugenia Kalnay (University of Maryland) for "outstanding contributions in atmospheric sciences, atmosphere-ocean coupling, atmosphere-land coupling, biogeochemical cycles, climate or related aspects of the Earth system." The Climate Communication Prize is awarded to Marshall Shepherd (University of Georgia) in recognition of his "communication of climate science." The Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists is awarded to the late Fuqing Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for his "significant contributions to the Earth and space sciences."

In addition, there are a number of AS Awards presented each year. Each AS awardee will be part of an Eos announcement published later this fall, complete with award citations, responses, and photographs.  In addition, section awards will be presented at the AS business meeting on 10 December. Please join us at that meeting to help us celebrate the following colleagues:

The James R. Holton Award will be presented to Nadir Jeevanjee (Princeton University).  The Holton Award recognizes outstanding scientific research and accomplishments of early-career atmospheric scientists.

The Yoram J. Kaufman Award is for broad influence in atmospheric science through exceptional creativity, inspiration of younger scientists, mentoring, international collaborations, and unselfish cooperation in research. This year the recipient is Allen Goldstein (University of California, Berkeley).

Atmospheric Sciences Ascent Awards are given to exceptional mid-career scientists in recognition of their excellence in research and leadership in their field. This year, the recipients are:

  • Rainer Volkamer (University of Colorado)
  • Armin Sorooshian (University of Arizona)
  • Jennifer Murphy (University of Toronto)
  • Francina Dominguez (University of Illinois)
  • David Noone (Oregon State University)


Finally, there are several named lectures associated with AS given each year. Keep an eye out for the AGU fall meeting program for details, but please join us to hear:

  • Jacob Bjerknes Lecture: will be given by Cecilia Bitz (University of Washington)
  • Jule Gregory Charney Lecture: will be given by Neil Donahue (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Future Horizons in Climate Science, Turco Lecture: will be given by Alex Hall (UCLA)